Posted in running

Reclaiming Fat

When you aren’t an athlete or an athletic person, it is sort of difficult to admit to yourself that you are an athlete when it finally happens…. This morning though, I was up at 5am to get in my 5 training miles and I thought… well it happened. I must be an athlete now.

IMG_0232

In other news, I have decided to reclaim the word fat. There was a big to do from LC this week as she doesn’t want to use the term skinny, but apparently still wants to use phrases like bikini body, and while I promote that mindset and promote people just being healthy, whatever that means to them, let me tell you why I am ok with the term fat for my own life. Years ago, I am pretty sure I had a mild case of body dysmorphia. I mean I was overweight, but I hated my body and just didn’t want to admit it. Instead of getting healthy and loving myself or being overweight and loving myself, I would do things like go to Anna’s Taqueria and order a burrito the size of my face and a side of chips and salsa and get to the cashier and think, that cashier is looking at me like I don’t need these chips and salsa. That cashier thinks I am fat. The truth is, that cashier didn’t give a crud what I looked like or what I ate, but that’s how I felt at the time. At the time I was ashamed and the term fat would just destroy me because it felt so true. When I refer to myself or a body part of mine as fat now, it’s important to me because it’s me embracing a word and not letting that word become me or get me down. It’s me saying man, I feel fat today, and that’s ok. I am still going to eat this cupcake because I choose to.

While I would love to live in a world where I don’t use these terms at all, the truth is, I don’t live in that world. So if I am going to exist in the world I live in, I might as well be happy with me. And I am. Let’s love ourselves no matter what OK? You all look great.

Oh and ladies… we all have a bikini body. Why? Because if you have a body and you put a bikini on it, then you have a bikini body. Whoever said only skinny people could wear bikinis? Men? Other women? Screw em.

Leave a Reply

