Posted in running

PSA

I just wanted to take a minute to share this PSA with the ladies of the world who work out: You will not bulk up from lifting heavy weights. This is a common misconception, but not an actual truth. We do not have enough testosterone to bulk up and those women who are body builders and are bulked up, are women who are working very hard to achieve that.

Lift heavy weights = build awesome muscles = carry your damn groceries all the way from the store to your house by yourself. Lift heavy weights = build awesome muscles = welcome to the gun show.

It’s toning, it’s not bulking. Let’s nip that untruth in the bud so folks who still don’t know will approach those weights and say ya know what, today I am going to lift using 15lbs and I am going to feel like a total badass a result.

And in other news… this is what happens when you need to get on the ball and study for your ACE test… you tape muscles to your bathroom mirror in hopes of studying them…
Muscles

As for my training… my body is tired. Five mile run today was not as rough as last Friday, but tough nonetheless. My entire lower body is really looking forward to just going home and rest tonight so it can get up tomorrow and run. The rest of my schedule:

Monday: 3 mile run
Tuesday: 30 min suspension training
Wednesday: 30 min ropes + 60 min Warrior (cardio, weights, fun times)  + 30 min foam rolling
Thursday: 60 min Warrior
Friday: 5 miles
Saturday: 8 mile run
Sunday: 60 min. yoga

This marathon training is for real yo.

*Featured image stolen from the very badass and inspiring Robin Arzon.

3 thoughts on “PSA

  1. Which ACE program are you doing? I’m thinking about going the fitness route, and would like to get certification either at the end of this year or early next year, so I would love to hear your views on whatever program you are doing. I’m thinking of doing the group instructor one and then maybe the personal training one.

    Like

    1. I’m doing Group Fitness and I am going to warn you…. it’s soooooo much information. Sometimes I feel like my brain is going to explode and I am quite scared to take the actual test as a result. ACE is supposed to be one of the best certifications, as well as NASM. I think NASM might even offer a combo test though I am not sure if ACE does. If you are thinking about it, I say go for it! If it’s something you are passionate about then it’s something worth pursuing no matter what the outcome!

      Like

Leave a Reply

