Posted in Health and Happiness Movement, Healthy Chicago, working out

The Place Where I Am

I’ve been feeling in a rut the past few days and as I’ve been contemplating why I began watching Hector and The Pursuit of Happiness. 

  
I truly love the idea of being able to wander the earth to find out what makes various people happy, but more importantly is the idea of finding happiness in your present moment. Sure there are things that can drive you nuts and get you down but your general overall happiness is something you create, soooo… Dear rut… Get the fuck over it.

This post is brought to you by a quick list of things that make me happy in the present moment:

1) My cat Texas who sits my side all the time.

2) Reading this ACE book… The thought of failing stresses me out because I want it, but the thought of fitness in my life makes me happy.

3) The taste of the cashew butter fudge that I just ate lingering in my mouth.

4) Summer rain

5) The sandwich that I bought the homeless man tonight because I don’t often do that and it took me about 5 minutes and $6 on my pre-loaded Starbucks card.

6) Texts from my friends  

P.S. My personal favorite lesson from Hector: Listening is loving.

Leave a Reply

