Posted in Chicago fitness, Fitness, Uncategorized

Why I Don’t Believe In Cheat Days…

… and other things which are entirely my opinion.

opinionated.gif

I am going to open this discourse by stating that while I am an ACE certified group fitness instructor I am in no way, shape or form a nutritionist.

Everyone has their own beliefs when it comes to dieting and healthy eating and what works for some does not work for all, however when someone tells me they are having a cheat day it makes me want to lose my effing mind.

8a55f7ea063b0cc2b5a91c1dfa5d6d1c.jpg

You see, most of these people say they have a cheat day once a week and then eat 6,000+ work of calories on that one day. What in the heck good does that do for you? None. Zero.

funny-picture-cheat-day-of-diet.jpg

My personal belief to eating is this: eat healthy and in moderation and if you have a craving for some “bad” then eat it. 80/20 rule y’all. Having one day a week where you go hog wild is terrible for you and living in a world where you are restricting yourself like that but letting yourself go crazy one day a week just teaches your body nothing.

How did I lose weight? I measured. I weighed things and ate portion sizes. I am also a vegetarian so I don’t eat meat. I did eat an excess of chips and sweets because I love them. Until last summer when I had a revelation that I was doing all these awesome things for my body in terms of working out but I wasn’t fueling it for that, so I cut back on processed foods and sugars and really concentrated on eating more whole foods. But I still eat things like donuts once in awhile. Why? Because I am not a monster! This winter I have gone a bit more hog wild and haven’t been as diligent about what I am eating and I keep telling myself to get back to the good food because I just generally feel better, but I will still not consider anything a cheat day.

afef37a403a2dc84a0aeafecb86848e9.jpg

Using the word cheat is like cheating on your health. It’s like saying I want to be better but not really because I am willing to cheat myself out of living a healthy, moderation consuming life. If you are like me and don’t have a stop button on snacks, then either buy them in small portions or just say ok I am only going to eat the things that are truly worth it (have I talked about donuts enough in this post?).

hqdefault.jpg

Using the word cheat is like saying I am going to get out there and do something new for the first time, except it’s not going to be something new at all, it’s just going to be something that I haven’t done in awhile and I will most likely invite all of my friends.

Using the word cheat is like calling yourself a cat lady when you only have one cat and no cat paraphernalia.

f88b9f3a9f1b3642346a2ae71e3bd2ac.gif

Just saying, don’t cheat yourself out of health by having a cheat day. Cheat your way into health by staying truth to healthy eating while occasionally eating that thing that you really want (it’s a donut, right?).

you-complete-me-donut.gif

End of rant.

*Thanks to the internet for letting me steal all of these pictures and a special thanks to OMG Cats In Space for just existing.

*Thanks to Stan’s and Firecakes for opening locations near my house and for making my commute home dangerous. If you would like to sponsor me, I would be ok with tha.t

Leave a Reply

