Posted in Chicago fitness, Chicago work outs, cross-training, Fitness, Half marathon, Inspiration, November Project, Uncategorized, Warrior, working out

My Butterfly Wings Would Be White and Green and Yellow

I think it’s fairly safe to say that I love working out. I love the adrenaline. I love the endorphins. I love the people you meet. Tonight I finally went to a free outdoor class from Mountain Athletics/November Project. You want a summary?

  1. Meet up with my friend Dani who is just the most delightful human and the reason I finally made it to one of these.
  2. Find the pole that signifies where to meet up.
  3. A stranger comes over and hugs me because that’s just what they do at November Project.
  4. Everyone introduces themselves and what they are training for.
  5. Warm up (I remember nothing but there were lots of burpees).
  6. Arms: 8 rounds (I think)- 5 push ups, 5 burpees, 5 tricep dips
  7. Legs: 10 air squats, 10 lunge jumps, 20 toe taps
  8. During legs I notice a little girl watching us so when I finish I ask if she wants to learn what we are doing. She is mildly interested and then we race up a hill because she likes running.
  9. Abs – plank, side plank, butterflies, jog around the park but none of this matters because Emily joins us for the entire ab set and says awesome things like I can see the moon, I’m tired but I can keep going, I’m going faster than you and I’m a superhero. She is the very definition of #littlebutfierce.
  10. Workout done – cool down.


The workout and the people were definitely great but Emily reminded me why I want to train people. She’s curious, confident and wants to workout with these adults that she doesn’t know. It’s infectious. And that. Right there. That is what I want to do with my life. I want to work in fitness with children. I don’t want to be a gym teacher. I want to be outdoors or doing special programs with kids. I have no idea how one does that but it was likely the greatest moment of my year.

One thought on “My Butterfly Wings Would Be White and Green and Yellow

Leave a Reply

